Advanced Search

Advanced Search is a flexible, customizable tool that allows users working in Helm CONNECT on shore to design and use searches that meet their needs. You can search open and overdue maintenance or compliance items—maintenance routines, inspections, inventory counts, forms, tasks, and corrective actions—for all the assets in your fleet. With this tool, you can either search on-the-fly or use previously saved searches. You can also share your saved searches with other users and divisions.

Where to find Advanced Search

You'll find the two Advanced Search tabs—Advanced Search and Manage Searches—in Overview on the Maintenance menu.

How to manage access to Advanced Search

You can use role-based permissions in Setup > Users > Roles to control which users have access to the Advanced Search and Manage Searches tabs.

How to run a search

On the Advanced Search tab, you'll see a series of filters near the top of the tab. Advanced Search is optimized to handle large amounts of data, so the page is designed to open blank, wait for your input, and then load the results once you click the Search button. An exception to this is if you click an asset card on the Overview tab first; in that case you'll go directly to the Advanced Search tab with the asset name already selected in the Asset filter.

You can run a search two ways:

  • Run a search on the fly Use the filters to set up your search criteria then click Search. To refine your search, adjust the filters then click Search again.
  • Run a saved search Select the saved search from the list then click Search. You can change the current search criteria to refine your search without changing the original saved search.

How to save and edit searches

You can create and save searches on both the Advanced Search tab and the Manage Searches tab, however, you can edit saved searches only on the Manage Searches tab.

Advanced Search tab

Saving a search on the Advanced Search tab is the quickest way to save a search. It's especially useful when you're not sure which filters you want to use because you can try different combinations until you get the results you want then save them as a search.

To save a search on the Advanced Search tab

  1. From the Maintenance menu, select Overview.
  2. Click the Advanced Search tab.
  3. In the search filters section, select the filter or filters you want to use, then click Save Current Search.
  4. In the Name field, type a name for this search.
  5. (Optional) Do one of the following:
    • From the Share With Users list, select the people you want to share the search with.
    • From the Share With Divisions list, select the divisions you want to share the search with.

    NOTEYou can share a search with other users or other divisions, but not both.

  6. Click Save.

Manage Searches tab

Creating and saving searches from the Manage Searches tab is convenient when you know exactly which filters you want to use.

To save a search on the Manage Searches tab

  1. From the Maintenance menu, select Overview.
  2. Click the Manage Searches tab.
  3. Click the New Search button.
  4. In the Name field, enter a name for the new search.
  5. In the search filters section, select the filter or filters you want to use.
  6. (Optional) Do one of the following:
    • From the Share With Users list, select the people you want to share the search with.
    • From the Share With Divisions list, select the divisions you want to share the search with.

    NOTEYou can share a search with other users or other divisions, but not both.

  7. Click Save Changes.

You can edit saved searches only from the Manage Searches tab, not from the Advanced Search tab.

To edit a saved search

  1. From the Maintenance menu, select Overview.
  2. Click the Manage Searches tab.
  3. From the list of saved searches, select the one you want to edit then click Edit.
  4. Make any necessary changes, then click Save Changes.

How to share searches

You can share searches with individual users or with all the users in a division. Once you share a search, the other user or users will see it in the list of saved searches on both the Advanced Search and the Manage Searches tabs.

A few things to remember about sharing searches:

  • Shared searches can be deleted by the user who originally shared them (the owner).
  • Shared searches can be duplicated by any user who receives them. If someone duplicates a search, he or she becomes the owner of the copy, but not of the original search.
  • Searches shared with individuals can be removed by any of the receivers. This removes it from his or her Manage Searches and Advanced Search tabs, and also removes his or her name from the Shared With Users list on the search owner's Manage Searches tab.
  • Searches shared with divisions cannot be removed by any of the receivers.

To share a new search

You can choose to share a new search with other users or other divisions when you save it on either the Advanced Search tab or the Manage Searches tab.

To share a saved search

You can choose to share a search even after you've created it.

  1. From the Maintenance menu, select Overview.
  2. Click the Manage Searches tab.
  3. From the list of saved searches, select the one you want to share then click Edit.
  4. Do one of the following:
    • From the Share With Users list, select one or more users.
    • From the Share With Divisions list, select one or more divisions.
  5. Click Save Changes.

The transition from Details to Advanced Search

Over the last few releases, we transitioned all Helm CONNECT Maintenance and Helm CONNECT Compliance customers away from the Details tab and over to the Advanced Search tool. Here's an overview of the transition:

Version 1.11 (the first release) We started the transition to Advanced Search slowly, giving you time to try the new tool and decide how best to configure it for your company.

Version 1.12 (the previous release) We made the Advanced Search and Manage Searches tabs available beside the Details tab in Maintenance > Overview, to give your users time to learn the new tool while continuing to work on the Details tab. You decided which users should have role-based permission to the Advanced Search and Manage Searches tabs.

Version 1.13 (this release) We removed the Details tab from Maintenance > Overview.

Mid-2019 The Advanced Search feature currently lives under the Maintenance menu. We know Helm CONNECT Compliance customers want to use this feature to manage their forms and corrective actions in one place, so we will move Advanced Search to a better location on the Helm CONNECT menu in a later release.