When you decline a form, you can send it back to the previous step so any gaps or mistakes can be addressed. Once the changes are made, the form can be re-submitted for approval.
How to send a form back to the previous step
Sending a form back to the previous step is simple. When you review a form, you'll see a new Send back to previous step check box in the Decline this form? window. Everything else in the window is the same as it was in previous versions: you're still required to enter your name and the reason you're declining the form. However, you now have the option to send the form back one step in the approval process.
When you send a form back to the previous step, all its original information, such as the note about why it was declined, stays with it. The person or space that receives the declined form can either make the corrections and approve the form again or, if the form was set up with multiple approval stages, they could also decline the form and send it back another step.
Where to find declined forms that were sent back
Sending a form back to the previous step means it will go back just one step, to the person or space it just came from. Depending on the approval process originally set up for the form, this could mean it returns to the previous approval space or to shore, or it could mean it goes back to the space that originally filled it out. For more about building form templates and assigning approval roles, take a look at Build forms templates and Assign approval roles to your forms.
Here's a list of places you'll find declined forms that were sent back:
- Onboard work space If a form is sent back to the onboard space where it was originally filled out, it will return to the new Declined and Re-opened section in that space's To Do list in Logs. It will also display in the In Progress section in the Forms Library in Forms.
- Onboard approval space If a form is sent back to an onboard approval space, it will return to the Awaiting Approval sections in that space's To Do list in Logs as well as on the Library tab in Forms.
- Shore approval space If a form is sent back to a shore-side user, it will return to the Submitted tab in Forms.
If you don't send a declined form back to the previous step, it goes directly to the History tab with a status of Declined.